Complete and utter noob. Please read before you lock.

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJ Powell**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
A short introduction:
OK, heres the deal. I am a hobby fighter(boxing, muay thai, a little no-gi), i train everyday just for the love of the sport. I am on a maintenance type diet and i want to shift alot of my training focus on gaining strength. I am just lost about where to start, it is such a broad topic. And i read the FAQ and stickies, it still seems like it is geared towards "seasoned" lifters, not complete noobs. I just want a well-rounded, full bodied beginners routine i can constantly build on.
-I extracted the major questions and put them on the bottom for the guys that don't care to hear my noobish rambling.

First of all, i have never lifted weights(consistently) in my whole life. Nor have i ever performed a squat, deadlift, or benchpress(well, i benched a little on the football team)
I am aiming to shed some fat later in the year(25%bf right now), and i have been reading some books on it, with really good information on diet & nutrition, but when i get to the Strength training section, it is geared more towards bodybuilding.

Basically a whole bunch of machine and isolation movements, with brief passing mention of the real good exercises. Given, the books i am reading are geared more towards the average joe or jane.

So what i am getting at is, is there a reason for these body-part splits and several sets with 10-15 reps. Do these have any particular advantage when it comes to lowering my bodyfat percentage? Or are old fashioned DLs, and Squats just as good for my purposes?

here are my goals:

-Get stronger in general

-Look ripped (not in an obsessive bodybuilder sense, i'm not too hung up on looking pumped/tanned, or being super symmetrical, i just want a low BF%, who doesn't want that?)

-Increase my performance on the mat, basically brute strength
------------------