Comments you get as a fighter

P

Pugilistic

I know a similar topic has been done a few times before with how people react to you and what they say when you tell you do martial arts. I'm wondering what other stupid and amusing things some of you have heard when you tell people you are a fighter.

In my case I am a professional boxer and I don't usually like telling people this because of the reactions I sometimes get. If people ask me what I do, I tell them I'm a student first and foremost (I do go to school) but if they press I just tell them I work in athletics. Sometimes I have to tell people I'm a boxer and I have a fight coming up when I go out and refuse to drink and people get fucking weird when you don't drink. I enjoy drinking myself but I don't give a shit if others drink or not.

I occasionally get people arguing with me that one drink isn't going to hurt despite me telling them my fight is a few weeks away and I have to cut weight and stay healthy. I don't really know if one drink is going to be that detrimental but I don't want to risk it and I take my training seriously. But some people still don't get it. "Just one drink! Stop being so lame!"

Then they're are the people who tell me I shouldn't cut weight and that athletes need to eat. And they know because they played sports in highschool. Conversations go like this, "Hey man, wanna grab some fried chicken/burgers/pizza later?" "nah I can't, gotta cut weight." "No man! You have to fucking eat if you have to fight! I know this because I used to swim in highschool!" "Uh yea...next time."

Maybe it's because I'm asian but I occasionally run into people for whom it doesn't register that I box, instead of doing some asian shit. People ask me if I do boxing-boxing or some kind of chinese boxing. I have to explain that I do regular boxing with gloves and shit inside a ring. Sometimes I'll tell someone I box and the next time they see they ask, "So how's your karate going?"