Coming back from long BJJ hiatus—what do I focus on?

Spoken

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
I trained for years. I’m 30 and started when I was 14. But I stopped my first 2 years in college. Then I bought my first gi and trained another 4-5 years. Got a purple belt but moved and had some injuries so I got into cycling...and I was a poor grad student for awhile.
But, I have money now /my wife makes 6 figures and I’m gonna come back. I’ve no idea how natural I’ll feel in someone’s guard or when I’m getting mounted. I feel like I’ve forgotten a lot of the more technical sweeps and submissions i had drilled to memory.

So, with 5 years off and a purple belt that should probably be a white belt (I hope it’s not that bad), how should I focus on returning to form? Drill fundamentals? Stick to what I know I’ll be okay at? Spinning shit? I know I’ll need to check my ego and get used being subbed everywhere, so I’m already prepared to get stomped all the time.
I’m a little nervous, actually, but I’m so damn excited to come back to the only sport I was more than average at.

I trained for years. I’m 30 and started when I was 14. But I stopped my first 2 years in college. Then I bought my first gi and trained another 4-5 years. Got a purple belt but moved and had some injuries so I got into cycling...and I was a poor grad student for awhile.
But, I have money now /my wife makes 6 figures and I’m gonna come back. I’ve no idea how natural I’ll feel in someone’s guard or when I’m getting mounted. I feel like I’ve forgotten a lot of the more technical sweeps and submissions i had drilled to memory.

So, with 5 years off and a purple belt that should probably be a white belt (I hope it’s not that bad), how should I focus on returning to form? Drill fundamentals? Stick to what I know I’ll be okay at? Spinning shit? I know I’ll need to check my ego and get used being subbed everywhere, so I’m already prepared to get stomped all the time.