Circadian Ryththms

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Ninja Realist, Jul 14, 2010.

1. Ninja Realist

Ninja Realist Brown Belt

I am taking this psych class and the textbook says your circadian rhythms mean you have maximum strength at around 11 AM and 7 PM.

Does anyone know of science or experience that demonstrates appreciable gains from exercising at these times?

2. Stungun101

Stungun101 Red Belt

If that was true, wouldn't it still be relative to when you (consistently) get to sleep?

For example, I go to bed at 10am and wake up at 5pm.

3. .Exe

.Exe White Belt

Yes. You can adjust your circadian rhythms. It has a lot to do with sunlight tho.

4. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

You must do that for your job or you're nuts. What do you do?

5. Stungun101

Stungun101 Red Belt

Yes, it's the night shift. I'm also a student. I never really had much problem with working at night, the problems come if there's alternating weeks of nights then days.

6. scoopj

scoopj ackson

I thought circadian rhythms had to do with how not to get a girl pregnant.

7. grrthetree

grrthetree Green Belt

Thats cesarean cycle

8. jerrylundergard

jerrylundergard Green Belt

The circadian rythym can be reset to any hours. With artifical lighting the sun is no longer the circadian force it once was.

The clock is set by your sleep wake patterns. You could easily thrive on a graveyard shift if your sleep wake patterns are consistent. Like you wake up at 8 pm and you would be your strongest from 11pm-7am.

My best lifetime PRs were all done when I was in college and waking up at 4-5 pm and lifting around 7-8pm and going to sleep around 7-8am. I was just consistent with my sleep/wake/eat/bowel schedule.

9. zx

zx adventurer

Hard to believe. Milions of years of evolution made a mark. I was reading long time ago that every organ has it's own time when resting(or working with less capacity).

10. ronin0352

ronin0352 Lift, Eat, Sleep, Repeat