Careers In Music

marty182

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
Sup, ill try and keep it as interesting and short as possible.

I want to know if anyone here has a career in the music industry whether it be a performer a sound tech or work in a instrument shop, and if so how you like it and if you completed any other education for your jobs.

The reasons why i am asking is because recently due to injury i need to re evaluate my career and due to outside forces of extreme pressure (girlfriend, family, friends) ive hit a slump in my search for jobs as my injury pretty much makes me a high risk employee for anyone with common sense.

So i thought to myself what makes me happy? What am i passionate about? What can make a shit day slightly better? And that was music. I studied music all of high school and came in the top 3 in my school for the HSC ( the Australian equivalent of SATs i think), and ive also played guitar for over 11 years, and have some interesting skills that require a good ear.

So ive looked up some courses and have found a great learning path for me to follow and im 100% in.

What have you mayberry, help a brother out with your wisdom and advice please. :icon_chee

It's probably the worst time ever to get in the music business. The record industry is dead and bands support themselves through touring. This limits jobs to things like roadies or sound technicians for live shows and chances are, those are going to go to friends of bands.

For other sound related jobs, you could work in a music shop but you are looking at pretty poor pay and it wouldn't really be a career. Sound engineers are one of the few well paying jobs but the competition is going to be tough and you are going to need a degree for it.

Sorry to be a downer but making a career is music in the pits these days.