Can't turn up headphone volume with TV

Discussion in 'The Arcade' started by Grassshoppa, May 15, 2014.

  1. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    So I bought some Bose headphones from Costco so I could game at night and not worry about waking the house up. But when I have the headphones plugged into the Audio In on the back of the TV, I can't turn up the headphone volume at all.

    I've got the TV speaker turned off so it only goes through the headphones and even if I try turning up the TV volume it never changes the volume of the headphones.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Count Zero

    Count Zero Twisting Nether

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,697
    Likes Received:
    15,901
    Location:
    Underneath the veil
    Have you checked out the instruction manuals for both ?
     
  3. PAUonePUNCH

    PAUonePUNCH Black Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Vault 11
    Well you're not going to get anything if you got it plunged into "Audio in." That's for input of audio.
     
  4. KlNG

    KlNG Thank you for more post per page.....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    9,846
    Location:
    Killadelphia
    This...Try the opposite and get back to us.
     
  5. treelo

    treelo //Do something here

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,778
    Likes Received:
    1,779
    i would also imagine if you have purchased stereo headphones with no sort of volume control on them....you wont be able to adjust the volume
     
  6. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Yes, neither help or say anything about using headphones.

    Sorry, you are correct. I have been plugging it into Audio Out. When I plug it into Audio In I get no sound at all.

    That sucks. The weird thing is that if I plug them into my computer I can adjust the volume up or down just fine. But when I plug them into a brand new TV through the Audio Out I can't adjust the volume at all.

    Any other ideas??
     
  7. PAUonePUNCH

    PAUonePUNCH Black Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Vault 11
    What type of TV is it?
     
  8. jerzey devil

    jerzey devil Jerzey-Duz-It

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18,878
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    At a restaurant, because the customer is always ri
    Your TV has an 1/8 inch Audio Out port or do your headphones have RCA connectors?

    Also, check the audio out settings on the menu on your TV. There might be a way to control it from there.
     
  9. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Tried it on both my Samsung 50" and new Samsung 70".

    1/8 inch Audio Out port. I checked the sound settings for both TV's and neither have a way to select Variable Audio instead of Fixed Audio. I can only select TV Speaker or External Speaker. When I try to change the volume on the new TV with the headphones connected it says something like "You have an external speaker and must change the volume through it."
     
  10. jerzey devil

    jerzey devil Jerzey-Duz-It

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18,878
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    At a restaurant, because the customer is always ri
    That sucks. Sounds like you're stuck if your headphones don't have volume control. Sorry man.
     
  11. thomnasty

    thomnasty Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    That's weird. I have 4-5 year old 48 inch samsung that I plug headphones into all the time and can adjust the volume through the tv. Have you tried using different headphones?
     
  12. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Yeah, I guess I'll try to buy an in-line volume control cable from RadioShack and see if that works.

    Yeah, I bought the Sony and Bose headphones from Costco to see which ones I like better. Same thing happens with both.
     
  13. PAUonePUNCH

    PAUonePUNCH Black Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Vault 11
    Can you turn the TV speakers on or off in the menu? Not "TV Speaker or External Speaker" but the TV speakers them self? If so turn em off and try again.
     
  14. Jumpy

    Jumpy Invincible

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11,134
    Likes Received:
    2,313
    Location:
    Hovering above Earth
    Do you get any audio at all through the headset?
     
  15. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Nope, nothing in any of the menus to do that.

    Yes, I get a decent level of audio. I just can't turn it up or down.
     
  16. PAUonePUNCH

    PAUonePUNCH Black Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Vault 11
    Did you ever get it to work?

    If not there's one last thing I would suggest because I just was messing with my TV and it made me think of this thread. In the Audio options look for "analog audio out." You should be able to switch it between "Fixed" and "Variable." Switch it to Variable and try to control the volume with the remote like normal.

    I hooked up some speakers to get some bass out of my TV and that seemed like exactly what you need to do.
     
  17. Grassshoppa

    Grassshoppa Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Unfortunately, no. I did look for "fixed" and "variable" but neither of my TVs have that under the Audio options. I suppose I can turn up the game volume through the game menu. Or I might just go with a gaming headset or wait until I get a surround sound system and plug the headphones into the surround sound receiver.
     
  18. Michaelangelo

    Michaelangelo Okay USA Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25,022
    Likes Received:
    42,748
    Lol

    The only thing I can recommend is you get some turtle beach headphones or something directly for gaming
     
  19. Michaelangelo

    Michaelangelo Okay USA Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25,022
    Likes Received:
    42,748
    What's the tv model?
     
  20. Dogstarman

    Dogstarman Old man jiu jitsu

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,590
    Likes Received:
    4,524
    Location:
    On the mats

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.