Can I get stronger doing just Deadlifts and Squats?

AKJ

White Belt
Reaction score
Basically, I'm training MMA, Muay Thai and BJJ most days of the week. Structure this around work and I am left with little time. I'm a complete beginner in strength training and Starting strength is kinda out of the question because I can't just do that, and squating 3 times a week with what I do already might kill me.

HOWEVER, I am willing to invest in a cheap squat rack, bar etc. so my question is, can I make significant strength gains, that will improve performance by just squating and dealifting heavy 2 times a week?

Yes you can.

There are many more exercises you can do with a bar and a squat rack and I can't see a reason why you would limit yourself to only squats and deadlifts though.

The short answer is yes. Have you by chance read Starting Strength?

Yeah definitely. Not sure if its the best way to do so but its definitely better than most. There are other exercises though. What about overhead work, bench, clean, jerk, etc.

If you have a squat rack, might as well throw in overhead presses / pushpresses / jerks.

Unless youre a professional fighter or have upcoming fights i think you should tone down the martial arts training so that you can do adequate strength training. Nobody wants to admit it, but strength is one of the most important factors in any fight. A good workout you could do as a two day split or ABA BAB 3 times a week is:

Squat 3x5
Press 3x5
Deadlift 1x5

Squat 3x5
Push-ups(weighted with a backpack full of items/weights if theyre easy)
Bent over Row 3x5

Definitely buy and read Starting Strength.

Unless youre a professional fighter or have upcoming fights i think you should tone down the martial arts training so that you can do adequate strength training. Nobody wants to admit it, but strength is one of the most important factors in any fight. A good workout you could do as a two day split or ABA BAB 3 times a week is:

Squat 3x5
Press 3x5
Deadlift 1x5