By what logic is the fight result a no-contest?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by 7j7, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. 7j7

    7j7 White Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    In light of the Silva ruling, with the result of the Diaz fight being a no-contest, what possible reasoning is there for the outcome of the fight not now a win for Diaz? It makes no sense to me. On top of Diaz not getting a win, I assume Silva does not get a loss. Unless I'm missing something, I think this needs to be reevaluated.
     
  2. e92m3

    e92m3 Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    368
    Because Diaz failed too
     
  3. stevenseagle

    stevenseagle Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,651
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    43.1656° N 77.6114° W
    Diaz 1,3,5.
     
  4. Minnja

    Minnja Touch-Butt white belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19,889
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    I don't think guys ever get a loss for failing a drug test. If they won the fight but get busted it gets turned into a NC. It wouldn't make sense to give the other guy a win. If he got KTFO in the fight there is no way to turn that into a win even if the other guy did fail a test.
     
  5. humper3000

    humper3000 Yellow Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    136
    Diaz didnt win on fight day. NC is justified.
     
  6. surgeyou1

    surgeyou1 Welcome to the Machida Era...Part Deux

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    22,365
    Likes Received:
    33,544
    Why would he get a win for losing the fight?
     
  7. Toco

    Toco Steel Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    32,566
    Likes Received:
    37,717
    you think nick deserves a win because??
     
  8. MotorcycleMir

    MotorcycleMir Blue Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    6
    By what logic did Diaz, a guy who also tested positive for a banned substance and still didn't win on fight night, get a win over Anderson? NC means fight never happened, didn't count. That seems to be the way it should be.
     
  9. Jackonflame

    Jackonflame Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22,868
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I was going to answer you TS but it seems everyone else already did.
     
  10. 7j7

    7j7 White Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    Looks like I have not been keeping up with the news enough. I didn't realize Diaz failed a drug test for pot. Not a PED (one could argue a PDD instead) but I guess it doesn't matter.

    But, If Diaz had not failed, would he have been given the win and Silva given the loss?
     
  11. 7j7

    7j7 White Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    Your character is showing
     
  12. shonuf

    shonuf Titanium Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    48,947
    Likes Received:
    21,688
    No. You can no more argue a guy would have won then you could argue a guy would have lost. It's always a NC.
     
  13. zephid

    zephid Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10,127
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Location:
    Sweden
    Because Diaz also failed the test.
     
  14. Fire of Youth

    Fire of Youth Green Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Australia
    If the other guy is using PEDs then they are cheating to gain an advantage. The guy who doesn't cheat wins by default. However, in this case they both cheated.
     
  15. Lucifer Alpha

    Lucifer Alpha The Catastrophe

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    104,425
    Likes Received:
    32,767
    Diaz fans

    smh
     
  16. BisexualMMA

    BisexualMMA Don't Put My Name in the Name of Steroids!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    35,630
    Likes Received:
    66,470
    Location:
    Super Fight League Corporate HQ
    Don't the new rules that just got proposed and approved give winning fighters a loss for testing positive? Or am I making that up.
     
  17. yetanother

    yetanother Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    1,730
    You shouldn't get a win if you get your butt kicked and your opponent fails the test after that.
     
  18. Rvd Slmr

    Rvd Slmr Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,697
    Likes Received:
    12,136
    Location:
    France
    WTF, no, it's always a no contest.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.