bruising from bjj

FStep

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
i'm fairly new to bjj (couple weeks in) did standup for years so i'm used to contact sports etc but for some reason my biceps are getting bruised up like crazy every time i roll i don't mind a few bruises but its making it harder to apply pressure, etc with some moves. i also notice that no one in my class really has that except me (everyone i train with has been doing bjj well over 6 months) ... so i'm guessing this is just because i'm not used to the environment which is fine and all but how long does it take usually before the constant bruising stops?

wear a rash guard so the skin won't get pinched between your gi when they grab it

i get bruises all over my calves and shins and around my shoulders/arms from pinching

Hmm, maybe I will try a rash guard then. I look like a damn leopard I get so many bruises.

everyone gets bruises, if your goin at it hard

I've been doing submission wrestling for a little over 3 weeks (off the past week with bad bruised ribs) but I get lots of little bruises on my biceps as well. I wear a short sleeve rash guard so it doesn't stop the bicep bruises.

My shoulders take a damn beating, after every class I have red burn marks on them.

i wear a gi and i have bruises on my legs, arms, shoulders....... just part of the game.. Its a combat sport. .. be thankful bruises is all you get.

infamous mattyd said:
wear a rash guard so the skin won't get pinched between your gi when they grab it
i don't wear a gi ... so would rashguards be the way to go here (i assume you need long sleeve ones)

FStep said: