Breaking down Vasyl Lomachenko

Tokyo2020

White Belt
Reaction score
Vasyl Lomachenko is the number 1 p4p amatuer boxer in the world. I love the way he fights as he utilizes his very good fotwork to get in and out and also bobs and weaves to get close to opponents similar to a mike tyson but uses his feet alot more. But can you guys the experts break down his style even more for me? I ask this because as lf now i am studying alot of film about him and trying to incorporate alot of what he does. Me and him our bodies are very similar as in height and reach and how the body build looks. I also fight at lightweight and really lose no weight at all when fighting because i am always at or below 60kg. I used to be a boxer that constatley sticks his jab out like alot of the soviet boxers do but found it hard to use that style against guys that are taller than me. Talked to my trainer and we decided that fighting close mid range while moving my head in with the good footwork i have (although nowhere near lomachenko) utiliIng angles would best fit me in the lightweight divison. So sorry this was long but please explain to me in detail Vasyl Lomachenko's style pros and cons in detail.

I'll take a crack at this before Sinister or one of the actual experts shows up. I've been watching a lot of Lomachenko lately and was just thinking of doing a thread on him. He's awesome.

It's good that you have a good jab to work off of. Vasyl's flurries are what catches the eye, but he works off his jab well. pretty standard, he'll stick the guy with it until he can nail down timing and see a couple of the guys reactions get repeated, and then he goes to work.

Compound attacks are the name of his game. He'll jab his way in, 2-4 shots, move his head or feet to either dodge a counter or reset himself in a better position, rinse, and repeat a couple times until the opponent has begun to adapt. At which point he'll step out and resume the cycle