Boxing Skills/MMA

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by DeathAndHealing, Oct 30, 2010.

1. DeathAndHealing

DeathAndHealing White Belt

I dont know why there isnt a sticky for this yet, but I believe every/most martial arts have transferable skills to the sport of MMA. However, attaining skills in one sport does not mean you can automatically transition, so, what is in everyones opinion the skills we can take from boxing and how do you modify them for MMA?

I'll start..
    Boxers commonly duck under punches by bending at the waist, however in MMA people can knee/kick so to modify ducking under the punches you would bend at the knees.

2. Popsaregood230

Popsaregood230 Blue Belt

actually bending at the knees is the proper technique in the first place.

3. DeathAndHealing

You used your first post ever for that?

..sigh..

YouTube - Ducking - basic boxing instructional

For a better description, since I am no professional in any manner. This would be an incorrect technique regarding MMA, rather, staying upright--not bending forward--would be the most beneficial. Better?

4. Popsaregood230

Popsaregood230 Blue Belt

You never want to bend your back (you can a little but don't overdo it). Keeping the back straight gives you proper balance. So while you may see professionals in the ring bending at their waist *see james toney*, its not proper according to the basics.

5. td82394

td82394 Brown Belt

I guess the stance should be modified to be more straight forward to be able to check kicks and stuff takedowns. And if the philly shell could transition in any way, I'd love to here about it.

6. Steakeater**

Steakeater** Banned Banned

Popsaregood320 is right. The textbook method in boxing is bending at the knees. It allows for a good counter as well. Lots of boxers dont do it, doesnt mean its not a boxing technique. Its a lot easier to bend you back, especially if you have a more side stance liek Mayweahter.