Boxing or Muay Thai?

ChingPowKO

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm interested in starting MMA. I'm just wondering which stand up discipline I should start training in, Muay Thai or Boxing. I've had very little experience in this sport but I am really interested. I'm 15, 5' 7" and weigh 130.

boxing at your weight and age there should be tons of people to train and fight plus a good boxing gym should be cheap or free at your age where you based

Depends, do you have an affinity for kicking or punching?

Personally, I'd pick the one that gives you more weapons, but your hands will be far better if you focus on boxing only.

You can't really go wrong with either unless you find a shitty school.

Oh and maybe you should visit a few schools or gyms and watch the classes and see which you like the best.

Start out with the most basic of all fighting arts, yet the the one that focuses on the moves that give the highest percentage of damage inflicted from strikes and the moves that give the most KOs. That would be boxing. Stick with this for a year. Get GOOD at it. Whip yourself into the kind of shape that's necessary to take part in boxing and keep yourself in that shape. Then go into muay thai. When you do that, your muay thai will way easier to learn and you'll be way better at it than the other people your age who are just learning muay thai. Straight up fist fighting is a muay thai fighter's weakness, so you've taken care of that right off the bat just going into the style.