boxing license medical

james gatti

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hello everyone, my name is james, my last name isn't really gatti I just put gatti because he is my fav boxer and an inspiration to me. A little about myself I am 17 and don't live with my parents, I get a bit of support from my mum who lives abroad but I mostly provide for myself, all my money goes towards good food and training unlike brand new clothes and partying like most 17 year olds, I am dedicated to anything I put my heart towards and I believe I have a big heart. Oh and I am new to this forum :)

Anyway the question is I want to start amateur boxing soon then eventually pro boxing, I currently train at a amateur boxing club in the uk and was told I have good punches and great power but my head movement and footwork needs a lot working on. My problem is i have a mild scoliosis, 24 degrees in the lumbar section and 18 degrees in the upper back, its not very noticeable I always wear a vest at the boxing club and no one notices it, infact no one anywhere notices it at all because it is very mild even one doctor didn't even think I had it when I got checked up how ever the other 2 doctors noticed I had it but they both said it is mild. I am scared this will stop me from fighting amateur fights (even though the regulations for UK amateur boxing says only signifcant scoliosis will stop you from fighting and my doc said it was very mild not needing treatment), but also I am afraid it will stop me from going pro.