Box squat questions

Hendersonfan119

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
When I do box squats I go down below parallel like you would a regular squat. Then I watched these clips on youtube.

YouTube - DeFranco's Training - Corey Smith 500 Squat

YouTube - DeFrancosTraining.com - HS linebacker box squats 500!

YouTube - DeFrancosTraining.com - Another HS kid box squats 500!

They all go to just parallel.

I am looking to increase my explosiveness for wrestling so how high should the box be?

My 2nd question is on this link ( Build Explosive Strength: How to Perform Box Squats | StrongLifts.com ) it says that you have to do box squats explosively and you cant do them slow. In the links above they are slow, I do mine slow when I am increasing weight. Am I not going to gain explosive power by going slow, should I lighten the weight and do them quickly?

Hi, I've got no real experience in pure wrestling but I do train it in MMA, I also very often powerlift and that extra core body strength is a massive advantage. Your hips and lower back will blast out of any hold! Deadlifts, Stiff legged deadlifts and squats are the key.

But from my experience and everyone who has advised me about squats (including a powerlifter and pro bodybuilder) over the past years say box squats, especially with say your body weight or more, are very bad for your back. You probably won't do something immmediately, but it'll be cumulative and after a year or something you may be permanently injured.

I'd suggest you mix your leg training with partial squats and parallel squats, personally I found that partial squats are the best way to avoid injury and build power the fastest. Depends on the weight you're lifting. I'm about 82kg/180lbs something, I squat 220kg partially. If its a weight you think you parallel squat comfortably then you could box squat it, I'd just stick to parallel though.