BJJ or Judo?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by D2CZ, Jan 7, 2015.

1. D2CZ

D2CZ White Belt

I'm considering starting one of the two soon, I have been practicing boxing for a few years and I want to expand.

Most of the fighters I know and I am friends with are either boxers, kick boxers, kyokushin fighters and are somewhat biased towards which grappling style i should go for so i thought it would be good idea to ask here.

I mostly want to train these for myself, to expand myself as fighter.

I am studying both styles before i go and visit some gym's but could you state some differences? Sorry for my english also.

Thank you.

2. Mcmoon

Mcmoon Green Belt

Judo Pros:
    Awesome to send people flying with a good effortless throw
    From a self defense point probably more valuable
    give you a stronger clinch for boxing or muay thai
    Normally cheaper

Judo Cons:
    Steeper learning curve
    harder on the body
    Ground game not as advanced as bjj

BJJ Pros:
    easier to learn and become adequate in beginning stages
    widely available

BJJ Cons:
    more expensive
    Many places do not practice good or proper takedowns

Probably more things on both sides that other people can add.

3. ziggyholiday

ziggyholiday White Belt

I would not say BJJ is widely available

4. Kevza

Kevza Blue Belt

I would say theyre both quite different so it depends what you want. More ground based grappling , or throws . That's simplifying it of course but its basically true.

5. Mcmoon

Mcmoon Green Belt

I was basing off of personal experience with that one. Every decent sized place I have lived have had bjj but did not always have judo. In the city I live in now there are probably 3 or 4 bjj schools and no judo.

6. SummerStriker

SummerStriker Black Belt

BJJ = Bullshit Just-like Judo

7. hackenbush

hackenbush Orange Belt

You also need to factor the quality of instruction too. Poor instruction for either is a useless venture.

8. Gojujutsu