BJJ, Compete or not compete....

Loaf10

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
How many of you guys compete. I have been training now for 5-6 months, and there is a big tourney in minneapolis that has a beginner (under 1 year) division. its like 8 hours away and i am trying decide weather i shoul go or not. Do most of you compete?? or do you train just for the exercise or love of the sport?? i am very competitive, i thought i would just start bjj for excercise but now i want to see how good i am. any thoughts???

just go do it.. its for the experience... competitions are a good way to learn your strengths and weaknesses... and youll know what to work out next time.. I competed a few weeks ago for the hell of it and won a sword..

I beleive you learn more by competing than just training, doesn't matter if you win or lose you'll gain a lot from it. But then again 8 hours away is long way to go, if the travelling isn't an issue for you then you should go for it.

cant tell ya too much about bjj comps but having done wrestling competition tells ya what you need to work on based on the results of your matches....the more I competed the better I became in and out of the practice room..it also tayght me that I had holes to fill and I was able to tailor my game to minimize the holes during comps as well as allow me to work on those same weaknesses during practice. I figger its about the same for bjj.

Competing is excellent. Hard, but great in improving your game.

If you win you will feel great and want to train harder to compete at the next level.

If you lose, you can do 2 things.
1) Get so discouraged you give up BJJ (AKA; real losers)
2) Take a valuable experience away and become more motivated to train harder

However, 8 hours is a long way to go. Are there no competitions nearer to you that you can start in?