Big 3 Form Checks

Poseylifts

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I posted this in my log but I thought I might get some more eyes on it here as well. I maxed out on all 3 lifts today per my Texas method template and want to get some advice/critiques on my form. I apologize for not being able to get the embed feature to work.

Squat 325

YouTube - Squat 325 x 1

Squat 345 Fail

YouTube - Squat 345 x F

Bench 235 Fail

YouTube - Bench 235 x Fail

Bench 230

YouTube - Bench 230 x 1

Deadlift 405

YouTube - Deadlift 405 x 1

Deadlift 415 Fail

YouTube - Deadlift 415 x Fail

The big things I can see are that I didn't drive myself out of the hole on the 345 squat attempt; it looks like I sat there too long. Bench I'm having trouble keeping overall tightness. Deadlift I'm new to so I need help on that the most, but I do notice I round my back a bit.

Here's another one of my front squats. The second rep looks HORRIBLE! I thought they looked good other than that, maybe a bit of tail tuck? Any comments are appreciated as always!

YouTube - Front Squat 230 x 3

I only felt like looking at the 405 deadlift so far, lots of things. The bar doesn't look like it's in contact with your shins at the start of the pull, they should be touching the bar. Stop looking in the mirror. Your hips are way too high. Get your hips down and your chest up. Arch your lower back better. Make sure you aren't pulling with your arms at all. Also get a better belt, one that is the same width through the entire belt. It should look similar to this, though it can have a buckle instead of a lever

images

Your hips are way too high. Get your hips down and your chest up.

This article in the FAQ says that high hips is the 'king of all mistakes' in the deadlift:

T NATION | Dead Zone

Rippletoe teaches with pretty high hips, too. He has people reaching down for the bar with straight legs, then bending the knees just enough to get the shins by the bar. This gives a really high starting position for the hips.