Bench form check

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by DrBdan, Aug 26, 2010.

1. DrBdan

DrBdan Something clever

Hey folks, here is my bench. Comments are appreciated.

- how's my arch?
    - foot position and leg drive - I don't think I'm getting much (if any) leg drive, should my feet be further back beneath me?
    - just how much does my gym's music suck?

175x1, 195x1

145x5

Thanks!

Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  2. cheez whiz

cheez whiz Brown Belt

Nice PR!

I'm not a bench expert by any means, and I'm fine with anyone contradicting me on this, but one thing I noticed that you did that I had to work on was that your feet weren't flat on the floor. I'm not sure that there's a major disadvantage to being up on the balls of your feet like you were, but in raw competition, feet must be flat, and watching Dave Tate bench, his feet were flat to the floor.

That's my two cents.

3. toonie

toonie Tuesday

I am no expert on the bench and I am currently working on trying to incorporate more leg drive. However, the other day at the gym, I was given some real time tips by a guy on my bench form. Most of these tips are mentioned by Tate, but I found that the mental cues really helped.

I used to get out onto my toes like you too because I thought it helped me more with an arch. However, it was recommended I try it flat footed and I feel like I can really feel more leg drive by slamming my heels into the floor.

I was also recommended about using a mental cue of slamming my upper back into the bench, and think less about pressing the weight off your chest (I think Tate mentions this too).