Beginners Running Program?

Beast13

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm just getting back into mma and as of now my cardio endurance is terrible. I am starting to drop weight which will definitely help, and aside from mma practice I want to do road work. Currently I can barely jog 1/2 a mile in 4 mins without gasping for air and I can almost make it 1 mile in 10 mins before the brink of death. I'm 5'8" 210 (19% bf) so it's not like I am extremely overweight, and my cardio should be much better, and i plan to drop to 165ish. This is my first time running in about 2 years, and even when I was active in mma and football I always hated running, but I need to do it.

Does anyone have any recommendations as far as a running regimen?

Thanks.

I'm just getting back into mma and as of now my cardio endurance is terrible. I am starting to drop weight which will definitely help, and aside from mma practice I want to do road work. Currently I can barely jog 1/2 a mile in 4 mins without gasping for air and I can almost make it 1 mile in 10 mins before the brink of death. I'm 5'8" 210 (19% bf) so it's not like I am extremely overweight, and my cardio should be much better, and i plan to drop to 165ish. This is my first time running in about 2 years, and even when I was active in mma and football I always hated running, but I need to do it.

Does anyone have any recommendations as far as a running regimen?

Thanks.

http://www.8weeksout.com/2012/02/23/roadwork-2-0-the-comeback/