Beginner's equipment?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by JZT, Aug 15, 2010.

1. JZT

JZT Banned Banned

Hey everyone, I'm looking to start training soon. I've done judo in the past (blue belt) and some muay thai for about 6 months.

I was wondering if someone could tell me what equipment I'd need for Muay Thai, Wrestling and BJJ (no GI) classes as a beginner and also an estimated cost of everything (I know it varies depending on quality / brand).

My list so far:
    -Mouthpiece
    -Headgear
    -Sparring gloves
    -Shin pads

I've already got bag gloves (lighter ones). I was thinking I might need the bands to wrap around your hands too, but not sure, some people were using them in my MT classes, some weren't.

I'd also appreciate it if some more knowledgeble people could point me out towards the good brands and what to avoid, etc.

Thanks a lot and sorry if I come off as a total newb lol

2. theSkeptiks

theSkeptiks Blue Belt

Needed for Muay Thai.
    - Mouthpiece
    - hand wraps ( you DO need these to protect your hand bones)
    - Muay Thai shorts and MMA shorts (for nogi)
    - comfortable t-shirt and rashguard (RG for nogi, but good for MT too)
    - 16 oz gloves for class and sparring
    - shin guards
    - bag gloves
    - headgear

That's all you need.
    What brands you buy are all based on your budget and taste in colors and designs.

What I recommend:
    - Shock Doctor boil and bite mouthguard to start, custom fit once you know you're sticking with this.
    - any brand will do with handwraps, just get some with some elasticity in them
    - I like twins and fairtex MT shorts. I like Sprawl, Bad Boy and Kaizen mma shorts
    - I use undearmour sleevless t-shirt in MT, and Manto & Bad Boy Rashguards
    - I love my Windy 16 oz gloves and my Fairtex, but Cageside MMA makes a good glove for less money too.
    - I use Combat Sports gel shinguards, but many other good ones to pick
    - you said you have bag gloves already