Beginner/Intermediate Program Advice

Poseylifts

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone. This is my first post but I've been a lurker for a little bit trying to learn more about getting strong.

Weight: ~220
Height: 6'

Background: I've been training for about 6 months. I've been doing the Nebraska Workout with a couple friends from work and I've seen some good gains on it but I'd like to switch to a different routine that's focused more on strength gain/building muscle. The current workout has a lot of stuff that seems kind of useless (Like two supersets for biceps/triceps per upper body workout which we've cut out and just do 3 sets of pullups/dips now instead).

Current Lifts:

Squat: 300 x 6
Bench Press: 220 x 2 (I suck)
Deadlift: 405 x 1
Front Squat: 240 x 3

A little note about the deadlift; I actually have only done this once. After our last lower body day (I had done the 240 x 3 front squats and did 280 x 5 on Back Squat) we decided to try deadlifts for fun and worked up to 405 as a max single so I feel I have some room to grow there especially.

I would like to get some videos up of my form as well to make sure I don't have any huge issues. I'm on leave right now but I'll probably get some up next week when I head back.

I have read the FAQs and the two routines that I've been considering are either the 3 day pull/push/squat routine or texas method. I've been stuck without making progress on a projected 1RM of 245 on bench press for about 3 training weeks, while my squat has slowly creeped up 5 pounds a week and I've already explained the deadlift situation. I think that puts me right in between beginner and intermediate. I'd like to try and squeeze some gains out of a beginner routine if I can.