Becoming an MMA Strength and Conditioning Coach

ImpulseSC

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm hoping to get some advice on starting a career as strength and conditioning coach specializing in combat sports. Basically, how does one specialize and land a good job? Internship, good connections, successful MMA career, etc

Long story short:
I trained muay thai for several years, saw gains after I started lifting. Had a great time and decided to make a career out of it. I went the academic route, worked hard, Masters, CSCS, PES. Tried a chain health club and other personal trainer work but it wasn't for me.
I've been doing a good deal of searching but no real success.

Thanks in advance

Well you could embrace battle ropes, crossfit and bane masks like most other mma conditioning "coaches"

Or you could take the approach where you actually try to improve the atheletes abilities with modern relevant training programs focused on the demands of an mma fighter. Look up the work of Joel Jamieson at 8 weeks out, he is leading the way in this approach.

As for forming a plan to get a job when you feel like you are able to objectively measure and improve a fighters s+c then there are hundreds of small up and coming teams who's conditioning consists of bw circuits and other random junk, desperatly in need of a professional approach. In the mean time I would try to pick up an internship/assistant s+c coach role for a college level/semi pro (ideally a wrestling team or something) team or something just so you can say you have experience working with atheletes.

So you've already completed your masters? Did you complete an assistantship with a sports team during that process?

So you've already completed your masters? Did you complete an assistantship with a sports team during that process?

I completed my assistantship with a few of the University's teams (no wrestling team, though).
My faculty advisor and I phoned/emailed several gyms, but never really heard back.