Ask me anything about boxing technique

facePuncher7

Founder of the militant wing of the Salvation Army
@Brown
Reaction score
This is probably going to go horribly BUT here I find myself..

I see a lot of MT and MMA guys on here asking boxing related questions.
If you have any questions regarding boxing technique and/or strategy then ask away.
I'm an amateur coach with around 12 years experience training and sparring with a small handful of fights. Always been in the gyms with all levels of fighters.

*dont ask me "who would win if X fought X", I don't care, just technique questions, no matter how basic.

Do you find it difficult coming straight in with a body shot without throwing a lead jab. Meaning, is it suicide just rushing straight in with a body hook without trying to put someone's defenses up first?

I just box btw.

Depends, there has to be some sort of setup but it doesn't have to be a lead, or a punch for the matter.

Slipping and ripping is common and effective if you have trouble setting up with the jab.

Walking straight in and dropping body hooks often goes badly. I've not seen someone get away with it more then once in a sparring session/fight. There should always be a setup.

Ah okay. Yeah, I've had mild success with straight body shot when going straight in, but the hook is hard to get away with.

Also, do you suggest trying to learn how to throw hooks off of your back foot? I'm orthodox and love throwing the left hook, but my trainer doesn't even suggest the notion of throwing rights off of the back foot. I realize the range would be tough to find...but I've seen guys do it up close.

It's possible and obviously effective if it hits but an awkward punch. I've seen Russian and Cuban amateurs do it well but besides that not often.

The reason for backing up is usually to create distance and a hook is a shorter punch. Jabbing while backing up is quicker, easier to control and if it lands will create more distance.