appropriate amount of torque when drilling

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Hellboy31, Jun 28, 2010.

1. Hellboy31 Brown Belt

When you guys are drilling techniques... Do you apply enough pressure to get a legitimate tap or do you simply put yourself in the correct position and then let go of the hold without really applying any pressure?

I typically apply just enough pressure to get a real tap... I do this because I'm still fairly new to grappling and I want to make sure that I'm not developing bad habits like not pinching my knees together for arm bars.

Anyway, I want to make sure I'm drilling with appropriate technique but I also want to be a good training partner.

Any advice or feedback appreciated.

2. HardEight Blue Belt

Its really gonna be up to your partner.
    The taps will come easier because it is drilling.
    There are different levels to how fast a partner will tap depending on the situation.
    They range from....
    1. Any Aikido training.
    2. Drilling
    3. Rolling
    4. Competition
    5. Da Streetzz!!!

3. Jagcorps_esq Red Belt

It really depends on the type of training. Drilling, I torque crazy slow just to be safe and to feel the tension point better. Rolling, I wouldn't say that I go slow, just very controlled with no real intention to "finish." In a competition scenario, I go controlled with the intention of quickly reaching the point of pain and then I hold, because I want them to tap. I never want to win by injury.

4. Paratoxicity White Belt

I go slowly until they tap, then I ask them where they felt the pressure/how tight it was/how they felt my weight shift. I like to make sure I'm actually doing the move correctly, and you have to lock it out all the way to be sure, IMO.

5. King Creatine Purple Belt

I crank subs when I am drilling, that way my drilling mirrors my competition form. Go hard or go home!

6. MTBJJ1249 White Belt