Anyone work in a kitchen?

squat

Green Belt
Reaction score
I just got a job yesterday as a cook at Bravo!'s Italian restaurant... I have no cooking experience, but the head chef liked me so he gave me the job; more or less. What can I expect? What do you think pay is like? I'm gonna find all of this out on Monday, but I'm just curious as to what you guys think.

Edit: I'm 18 years old, no rent to pay yet. I'm going to start paying rent to my oldest sister and move out to Florida with her soon. I'm also saving up to buy her old car (RX8) for 7 grand.

Also, I read in the handbook that Bravo! reserves the right to drug test me at any time they see fit. Does this mean that I'll get hit with a random one or only get hit with one if they think I'm on drugs? I just smoke a little grass here and there, and I don't particularly want to give that up. I'm not hoping to make more than $9-12/hour at hopefully 40+ hours per week.

Last edited:
I used to work in a Kitchen full of Iraqis, Kuwautis, Saudis etc who had fled to the US during the first war etc etc in highschool.

They used to call me a "Yahoodi" when I would screw up (I'm not jewish -they just find that to be the most insulting thing they can call you -lulz at fucking the hopelessly biggoted) I mostly prepped fish and veggies and got a tip share at the end of the night which I would promptly spend on guitar strings, skateboard bearings, and compressed charcoal. i met alot of watresses and their friends there -that was the best part -at the end of shift -there would be a lot of girls ready to go do something.

In college I worked at a vegan restaurant which was full of smug.

Above all else, an efficient multi-tasker.

How old are you? Do you still live at home? Honest questions...just wondering because I always hear that you start off in the cooking industry making nothing...obviously a concern if you have rent to pay.