anyone competing in NAGA on Oct 23rd in Hoboken

FStep

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
if you're competing are you doing gi or no gi, what weight class, what experience level ... if you competed here before talk about your experience, etc

its two days after my 21st bday, so i might be recovering a little bit but im going. im not sure if im doing gi or no gi yet...ive never done a naga event so i dont know how the divisions go.

edit: blue or intermediate @ 170 or 160 probably

I'll either have my 3rd stripe and be working towards my 4th or still working towards my 3rd still, but I'll be there...I live in hoboken... heaviest divison prob just gi

About how long of training before you guys competed in a tournament? I've been training BJJ for about 3 months now and am thinking about joining a tournament in a month or two just to see how it is.

LCDforMe said:
About how long of training before you guys competed in a tournament? I've been training BJJ for about 3 months now and am thinking about joining a tournament in a month or two just to see how it is.
people compete after 2-3 months of training all the time ... novice division is under 6 months with no wrestlers

Im doing both gi and no gi. In no gi Im doing teens lightweight (150-159) intermediate. In gi Im doing teens lightweight blue belt. This'll be my third NAGA, first at intermediate tho, and first time competing in gi. Its alot of fun, I recommend it to anyone even remotely thinking about it.

I'll be there
It'll be my first tourmey
I will definately do no Gi at 180/190 novice
and maybe probably Gi Whitebelt

I will have been training for 7 months come NAGA time and it is my *first tourney* so I will be competing Novice.....it says 6 months but I'm sure there's plenty of liars out there with tons more exp competing there+ all the roid freaks you don't know are truly on something but you suspect.....anyways: Grappler's Quest changed their No-Gi Novice from to 9 months which is a bit more open