Anybody ever been humbled but thankful for it?

Matt Majorz

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I didn't realize how stagnant my game has gotten until I rolled with somebody about my own size/ strength tonight.(I'm 6'4" about 245 or so, he was about 6'1" 230) I have been training for about 6 months now, and him about a month or so I think, but this is the first time I rolled with him. Since I am usually much taller/stronger than the other guys I roll with I have gotten VERY lazy because I can just get on my back and work from there. Well I tried all of the same lame stuff with him, but he kept his posture and his arms tucked in. Granted he just postured up and played only defense the whole time, but man was it frustrating not to even be able to secure an arm.

Looking back I should have just opened up, tried to sweep, get him off balance and go to work, but for the whole roll I just sat there like a damn bump on a log trying to do the same move over and over again with no success. But afterwards I was happy about it in a sick sense because he will force me to up my game and get way more active and better. So it was a frustrating day but a good day at the same time. Anybody else ever have those types of days?

congrats progression is the key man

At least 1/2 the days I train, maybe all of them =)

um when i get tore up when im rolling im thankful
cuz then it is like humble pie.
It just shows me how much i suck.

um when i get tore up when im rolling im thankful
cuz then it is like humble pie.
It just shows me how much i suck.

That's pretty much how I felt....like "dumbass, you accomplished absolutely nothing"... I was getting way toooo comfortable, even though I am still very new to the game. This was a big wake up call, and I am very thankful it happened. I think having him in the class will up both of our games in the future.