am i doing things too quick?

ninja edita

White Belt
Reaction score
Need some opinions so even though it might seem like I answer my own question here I'd like to hear what u think.

I started training again after basically three years of doing nothing this January.

Dunno if u will have seen any of my other posts or my log if you go in there but I have already injured my back a couple of times and I have a sprain of some sort in my wrist.

Today I did my second sprint session and pulled a quad worse than I did last sprint session(my first).

The first time I did my back doing deads I started with lots of warmups and the weight was 60kg lighter than my previous 5x5 working weight from last time I trained.

Dunno where the wrist has gone wrong.

I built up to a mile warm up and started adding sprints after a couple of sessions and today I have stretched before sprinting but I had to pull up at the end of 100m.

I have been back in training now about four months. I have never struggled like this and I'm starting to feel like I'm gonna be plagued by minor injuries that keep throwing me out of a routine.

Anybody with advice on making something work running/sprinting wise would be good to hear.

Also advice from any body who's experienced a similar or worse drop off in natural ability would be good to hear if and how you dealt with it or even overcame it.

Flat sprints take way more of a toll than most people give them credit for. If you're banged up and you keep pulling muscles, I would strongly urge you to switch to hill sprints. That will limit your stride frequency and reduce your chances of injury dramatically.

For deads we'd need a video.

Seems like you've got some mobility/flexibility roadblocks that need to be addressed, but again we'd need video.