Alternatives to squats?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by c0r1nth14n, Jul 12, 2010.

1. c0r1nth14n

c0r1nth14n Blue Belt

I'm almost afraid to post this.

My plan was to begin Starting Strength today. My Muay Thai gym has a weights section, and I thought it had everything I needed. Unfortunately, when I went to begin today, I realized it didn't have a squat rack. This seems like such basic equipment that I guess I hadn't thought to check. I asked my coach about this, and he told me not to do weighted squats. There's a language barrier there so I'm not sure why, but he said to do 3 sets of 50 deep air squats. If that was too easy, I could use an empty bar. Apparently this is what all the pros at my gym do - but I'm not a pro, when it comes to lifting I'm a total noob.

I've been reading up on Starting Strength and I was determined to follow it to the letter, but between time and money, I can't realistically get to another gym 3 days a week for this. I can do the bench press, deadlift, press, and power clean... but not weighted squats. So what I'm wondering is, what would you recommend to substitute for a squat? I know that nothing will fully replace it, and I'm sure some people will tell me to just find a way to do it, but that's not happening in the next 6 months. I'm sure the air squats will work my legs, but I doubt they'll work them as hard, or that they'll work the core. Does anyone have any helpful advice? Thank you very much.

2. DrBdan

DrBdan Something clever

Power clean the weight up and do front squats.

3. miaou

miaou barely keeping it together

4. callador

callador Blue Belt

I don't know how big you are, but could you squat out of another piece of equipment? If you had a bench press that had long enough uprights you could start from the bottom position of the squat and so a sort of box squat. There might be some other piece of equipment in there where you could do the same.