Akido or Judo

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Ghostdogg, Aug 1, 2010.

1. Ghostdogg Blue Belt

I have tried alot of different martial arts and doing my homework i think i would do very well in either im a big guy and me throwing someone well lets just say oww. I was wondering if somone could give me the pros and cons for both styles and if one shines brighter than the other espically in self defense. Im a paramedic and sometimes altercations happen but i can't punch people. also if anyone knows of any good schools i would apreciate it i live in mass well thanx.

2. Shemhazai Black Belt

Judo. Aikido doesn't work unless maybe you train for 20+ years.

3. UTN1 Purple Belt

Judo . Imo it's one of the best martial arts for self defense .

4. YeahBee Samdog Original Nine

Judo

some guy said that aikido is only good if you have a blackbelt in judo or bjj before

5. BJJ_Rage Gold Belt

wanna be a movie star? aikido...

want something to work in real life? bjj or judo are fine.

6. GingerNinja Orange Belt

False..

Depends the style you learn, who teaches you, and if you realise no martial art will provide you a complete skill-set and can only be improved upon by implementing other things.. but hell this is an MMA board, we know this.

Many Police forces use Aikido training and principles due to the techniques that allow you to control a situation without needing to knock the other person out cold. Plenty of control techniques, that cause no damage to you or your attacker.
    Take a tester class, talk to some black belts in both or so, make your own mind up. Don't be swayed by the shit this board tends to talk, if it doesn't have the word Gracie in it, 95% of the people here couldn't give a rats ass.

People attack paramedics? what a shitty world we live in.

7. djbrujoh Yellow Belt

judo :
    cons - no strikes
    pros - full speed realistic live sparring = good self defense

aikido :