Afraid Bench Press will slow my punch

Cardio

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Training boxing and I'm afraid that lifting weights, especially bench press, will slow down my punch. I work on having a fast and hard right cross and looping right and am afraid that I will become too stiff and rigid if I weight train more than once a week.

It happened to me in the past when I was lifting, I felt slower and stiffer as I became able to press more.

Any thoughts or possible lifting routines that will not harm my punch?

It was all in your head. Lifting heavy trains the fast twitch muscle fibers which are responsible for fast and explosive movements. Lift heavy AND keep boxing...

I always felt faster when I was lifing ME on bench. Punches felt more solid and snappier.

edit- I think you just need to get used to the feeling, took me a few months to adjust

Life heavy if you want to fight heavy...

alot of boxers do not lift at all.....

While I am no expert in this here are my thoughts:

If you want to be a fighter with fast hands then practice punching. Use weight lifting as a supplement to the fight training.

That is if you are going to lift twice a week try being in front of a heavy bag or focus mitts 6 times a week.

Your body will adapt to whatever stress you put it through. If you demand that it lift heavy shit it will get stronger. If you demand that it punch faster, it will.

However, if you want to punch fast and lift heavy shit and you only train to lift heavy shit your speed will suck ass.

That is, you can do both but you have to work harder than normal to progress at both simultaneously.

I am primarly a lifter. I do the MMA training for recreation. That being said I can still throw fast crisp punches with a 365+ bench press.

Same with kicks and knees. However, I'd be much better if I spent more time infront of the bag/mitts than under a squat bar.

Summary: