Advice on walk around/ibjjf competition weight

cafe637

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm 5'7 172 lbs. with gi on 176. I'm trying to determine the best weight to walk around and compete in considering my height. When I started BJJ, I weighed about 195. At my last competition I competed at middleweight whitebelt senior1. By the third match, I felt sluggish. I also noticed that some of the guys in that weight range are taller than me. One factor to consider is that I'm a police officer and I need to be able to handle myself, i.e. strength and stamina. My concern is that if I drop to far my strength may suffer. I'm thinking that I should probably be around 160 for future tournaments and on a daily basis. Any advice would be appreciated.

Depends a lot on your build and what feels best for you. Hard to base it off height alone. I'm 5'11" and compete around 150 but a guy I train with is 5'7" and 190 and wins purple belt divisions.

I'm 5'7 172 lbs. with gi on 176. I'm trying to determine the best weight to walk around and compete in considering my height. When I started BJJ, I weighed about 195. At my last competition I competed at middleweight whitebelt senior1. By the third match, I felt sluggish. I also noticed that some of the guys in that weight range are taller than me. One factor to consider is that I'm a police officer and I need to be able to handle myself, i.e. strength and stamina. My concern is that if I drop to far my strength may suffer. I'm thinking that I should probably be around 160 for future tournaments and on a daily basis. Any advice would be appreciated.

No Disrespect, because it's great that you are competing. But at the level you are competing, your weight class is not going to be terribly relevant. The difference between a WB 38 y/o old that weighs 167 and a WB 38 y/o that weighs 180 is not going to matter that much.