AbSno's Running and Back Rehab Log

AbdominalSnoman

Old
@Blue
Reaction score
So after a decade plus hiatus from Sherdog I return to find some of the guys still standing. I applaud their commitment and I'm happy to not find it populated entirely by people that think I belong to a generation born directly following WWII. I'm Gen X BTW. But call me whatever. I've been entirely out of fucks for that sort of thing for some years now.

I run at least a mile every day for a bit more than 1,200 days. I've had three streaks since Thanksgiving day 2014 . Both stops were for surgical procedure s. An epidural for my sciatica and I had my dead gallbladder removed. I still have sciatic/back issues and gut problems. I'm 46 and I am a Biologist that manages a Natural Resource group for an environmental consulting company in rural northeast Texas. I've gone back to a vegan diet to try to help my guts out. I've lost 27 pounds since April 3rd, but mostly through feeling awful and trying to crap myself to death.

I had a colonoscopy last week. I'd planned to run before, but I was too busy firehosing out of my butt from midnight on. I ran clenched about 4 hours after I woke up and that sucked. I have severe gastritis and IBS and i don't know why. I have a completely blown lumbar disc with none of the nucleus material left inside. I have a bulging disc right below it. I'm here for accountability. My goals are to run further and faster, lose weight, and rehab my back. I'd love to get back to lifting, but we will see. I love sparring, but I'm too old and broken for that now. I'd love to get back to heavy bag and boxing again, but that isn't even on my horizon now. We'll see where this goes.

My immediate goal is to work up to a 30 minute 5K on or before day 1,300. Hopefully well before, but my guts and back will have to cooperate. I also want to be more active outside of running, working on stabilizing and rehabbing my back while being generally more active.