Abridged Submission Encyclopedia (Help Needed!)

in8oo

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a student currently working on an independent research project for my Anatomy & Physiology class and am in need of assistance. For my project, I am creating an abridged (no-gi) submission encyclopedia briefly describing the anatomy and mechanics of common submission techniques.

For example:

4.2 - Ankle Lock
Alternate Name(s): Straight Ankle Lock
Description: A leglock applied to any joint in the ankle.
Anatomy: Isolates and attacks the talocrural/mortise joint in the ankle. This joint is a hinge/gliding joint formed by the articulating of the tibia and the fibula with the proximal end of the talus bone in the foot.
Mechanics: Submission works by hyperextending the talocrural joint through plantar hyperflexion. This may also simultaneously cause a compression lock to the Achilles tendon and/or calf muscle (see section 5.0 - Compression Locks).

At present, my table of contents/outline is as follows:

1.0 INTRODUCTION
1.1 Preface
1.2 FAQs

2.0 CHOKES
2.1 Introduction
2.2 Air Chokes
2.2.1 Ezekiel
2.2.2 Gearlock
2.2.3 Gogoplata
2.2.4 Guillotine
2.2.5 Locoplata
2.3 Blood Chokes
2.3.1 Arm Triangle
2.3.2 Anaconda
2.3.3 D

Cool - I'd be interested in seeing the results when you've finished. I've been building a general BJJ glossary for my blog, although I don't think that's got the level of detail you're looking for: either way, feel free to use what info you can from that. I get the impression I'll be more interested in using yours, though. :wink:

Honestly your best bet is some sort of wiki format. If you hadn't mentioned it was a school project(and maybe still), you could have duped some of us into filling it out for you!