About switchng Gyms, motivation and talent

Metal Stuff

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hey everyone !
Im writing this post because Im kind of down. I started training MT about a year and a half ago in my gym, where we trained very slowly and we focused on the technique mainly. In 3 months we didnt even start with kicks, we just focused on boxing mainly.

Then I moved to a new place in the Netherlands and you can imagine the school I got there, but we didnt do much technique, mainly combinations and at sparings, we didnt hit the face but the body area. Now I moved back to my old place and went to a training and sparing with a friend of mine who has been training for under a year (much shorter than me) and he just plain kicked my ass.

Ive had to admit that after 1 and half year, Im not so good, maybe not talented enough, despite my love for this sport. I've made a commitment to train the hardest I can after finishing my exams and to have an amateur fight by the end of this year.

My question is, that obviously different gyms teach in different styles, but can switching gyms really slow you down and maybe ''confuse you a little'', which I feel is what happened to me. Some words of encouragment would be nice too, cuz this guys is teasing me big time and Ive promised him another sparring session :D

The fastest way to learn is to spar a lot. Plenty of gyms in the Netherlands have hard sparring but you need to ask yourself what you want.

Joining a gym with lots of sparring will make you learn fast but prepared for headaches,bruises and possibly a broken nose.

Not a single kick after 3 monts...
But ... why?

But ... why?

Our group was brand new and our trainer focused on conditioning, stance and punching technique. He did a very good job with us tho, really transformed our bodies.
Also, Im currently training 3x a week and Im thinking adding some light cardio/gym on 1-2 exra days. Think its enough ?