A special kind of question.

Zoti

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
So, I'm giving some private classes to an Kid who has autism. He is 16 y/o. We have good communication but he is very, very passive and his mother would like to get him to be more aggressive.

I've been trying to teach him how to punch correctly but it's not really working. He won't get things like footwork or keeping your hands up or even punching with your knuckles. He keeps going back to hitting with the palm of the hand. Kind of like girly punches.

I'm aware I'm not going to build a Muay Thai champion here but this is done for the benefit of excursive and if he learns some aggression in the way them great.

I was wondering if anyone here has some experience working with people like that and can give me some tips.

Perhaps objects like bungee cords and focus mitts

I've never taught Muay Thai or grappling to an autistic student, but as a teacher I worked with quite a few.
I don't know how much you know about autism, but there are many different types and levels so it'll take some experimenting on your side since it sounds like the mother is open to it.
I'd make it more physical and less abstract since the students I worked with enjoyed the physical contact. Skip striking and go to the clinch and keeping balance by trying to stay upright while you move him around. Lots of repetition and you should be leading it so he knows what action to imitate. Verbalize your action with short phrases over and over again so he knows what to expect when you say those phrases.
I think the main thing to remember is many autistic people learn physical skills through repetition and imitation rather than through what we'd see as logical reasoning.
Sounds like you have the right attitude, so don't feel like you haven't accomplished much if you spend hour after hour just in the clinch without throwing any punches or knees.