A little encouragement from a complete noob

Alohacana

White Belt
Reaction score
So I have been training for about a month and I am completely addicted. Surfing was the only thing that has affected my life like this lol.
About 2-3 weeks into going to class 3-4 times a week we had a tournament between our three schools. Chief invited me so of course I showed up.
It was a round robin and I actually got bumped up a weight class since there wherent enough guys. I went in with no ego and just wanting to learn and I came out with a very positive experience and learned some things that may seem basic but it would of taken weeks of rolling in class for it to click. I lost by submission 3of 4 fights and lost by 2 points on the one I lasted.
This is just an encouragement to guys who are scared to look bad or compete. I had a blast and made some new friends and learned to guard my neck lol. I hope to do some more since I still suck but I am getting submissions in class and think I learn more when I am competing.

Sorry if this is a lame first post but I thought it might help a few out.

Well done dude, it's good you are enjoying it.

You just have to stay this motivated and you will be sweet.

May I ask where you train? I have never heard of a tournament like you said, sounds cool. Wish my academy would do it haha!

Well done dude, it's good you are enjoying it.

You just have to stay this motivated and you will be sweet.

May I ask where you train? I have never heard of a tournament like you said, sounds cool. Wish my academy would do it haha!

Maui jiu jitsu I train at the west side affiliate ADG

not being a dick but you're relatively new so everything jiujitsu is awesome to you. i wanna see you maintain that level of enthusiasm after a couple of years while trying to balance career & family life.

Maui jiu jitsu I train at the west side affiliate ADG

Awesome, dude.