This past weekend I helped out with a small local tourney by reffing some kids and teens divisions. I've competed myself in 6 BJJ tournaments so I'm pretty versed in the rules and all that, but there were a few situations where parents or coaches bitched at me for calling or not calling points based on what I thought were the rules. Let me know what you guys think so I know for future reference. 1) Player A takes Player B down, lands in side control. I give 2 points for the takedown and 3 for landing in side control. The coach of Player B bitches at me saying that he didn't technically pass the guard, so the 3 points shouldn't have been awarded. I guess I always assumed you would get 5 for this, since only awarding takedown points kind of punishes somebody with good wrestling or Judo for taking their opponent down cleanly and not landing in full or half guard. 2) Player A has side control on Player B and was just awarded 3 points for passing the guard. Player B is able to get his half guard back. Player A passes the half guard back into side control. I didn't give Player A points again and got bitched at. The way I've always understood was that as long as Player B doesn't advance himself to a neutral or superior position, then the side control points won't be awarded again. 3) Player A has side control on Player B and was just awarded 3 points for passing the guard. Player A successfully goes to knee-on-belly and is awarded his 2 points. Player B finally is able to get some space and force Player A to drop back down. During this, Player A goes around North/South to side control on the other side. I don't award side control points again. Player A goes to knee-on-belly on other side. I don't give points for this either. Was I right in not re-awarded side and knee-on-belly points? 4) Player A has side control and was just awarded 3 points for passing the guard. Player A takes the mount and is awarded 4 points. Player B is able to get his half guard back eventually. Player A passes this half guard back into the mount. I don't award mount points again. Player B eventually gets his half guard back. Player A passes this half guard into side control. I don't give 3 points. Right or wrong? There are a bunch of little situations like this that you usually don't think about until it happens, so I was confused a few times and made judgement calls. Any info you guys can give me would be appreciated.