A Bootenant Prepares For War

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by obroin, May 23, 2014.

1. obroin

obroin Orange Belt

Hey All,

I've lurked for a long time, finally started posting earlier this year, and now that I've graduated and am about to enter the real world, I decided I wanted to post a log here to prepare for the future.

I am currently a USMC Officer Candidate. I have already completed OCS and I will be accepting a commission as a 2nd Lt in a few months. I should be heading off to TBS (The Basic School, my first duty station/school) sometime towards the beginning of 2015. Until then, I want to get into really good shape. My goal MOS is 0302 (Infantry) or 0203 (Ground Intel) so fitness is a must. I want to focus on getting stronger and better at ruck marches, so my plan will include a lot of that.

Additionally, I have a love of martial arts. Long ago, I did Tae Kwon Do, and recently started incorporating it into kickboxing, and so far it's going pretty well. I also have started doing BJJ. So I plan on doing 3 MA workouts a week.

Next week, I will be testing my lifts to get maxes to start my program, as well as taking trial classes at the gyms I plan on training at now that I'm back home and away from my college. My lifting program is based around Wendler's 5/3/1, with the addition of heavy back training, and a little long distance running. My schedule is-

M- Lifting A
    T- BJJ Class
    W- Lifting B
    H- BJJ Class
    F- Lifting C
    S- (morn) 5 mile run/Functional fitness workout (afternoon) Striking/MMA Class
    In addition, on MTHF mornings, I will be doing a 3 mile weighted vest/weighted pack walk to work on my rucking.

My lifting routine is as follows

A
    Snatches (3/2/1 - same percentages as 5/3/1, but lower reps)
    Squat 5/3/1, DB Row 5x10/ BB Row 5/3/1, Squat 5x10*
    Triceps/Ab SS

B
    Farmers Walks (4x)
    W. Pull Ups 5/3/1, Incline DB Bench 5x10 OR Bench 5/3/1, BW Pullups 5x10*