7 months into BJJ training 2-3 times a week. Where should I be?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Passenger, Jul 4, 2010.

1. Passenger Banned Banned

Hey I've been training BJJ for around 7-8 months now and wondering where I should be I train technique 2 times a week and do around 2-4 hours rolling and sometimes do Private Lessons on Average around once every fortnight sometimes 2-3 times a fortnight. What should I be looking for in my technique? my teacher said I need to be looking to transition as much as possible which I'm understanding now but I feel like I'm not progressing but this could be due to me just taking a fortnight off due to an injury and just getting back into it. Any advice?

Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  2. Mala Yellow Belt

Well, what's your goal? Are you doing it to stay fit, for fun, for competition? That's what you should ask yourself.

If you feel dissatisfied, then you should reevaluate what you are doing.

3. lechien Gold Belt

I am not a big fan of getting privates from your own instructor but If you have money for privates, go for it.

so overall, how often do you train per week? 2 times if I count techniques + roll as one class?

4. theSkeptiks Blue Belt

You should probably be at least a Purple belt by now.

5. Ergo Orange Belt

Whenever I sleep in my fort I feel extremely well-rested.

Also, I'd say you should be a Red/Black belt by now.

6. BJJ_Rage Gold Belt

after 7 months???? probably in TKD or Karate, not going to happen in bjj my friend.

7. Passenger Banned Banned

Well I train BJJ twice a week which is 1 hour of technique and 1 hour of rolling each class plus we do 1-2 hours of rolling on sundays at the moment. I find I learn a lot more in a private lesson technique wise.

8. Mala Yellow Belt

Well, all jokes aside, my uncle WAS a gold belt in tae kwon do bu his 9th month.

And don't be in a rush for it. Let it come and enjoy the training, the rolling, that's the key.