5x5 --> 5x3 or 3x3 ?

Mumrik

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
Even though I read up well on the subject before I started lifting, I seem to have somehow messed up anyway and have done my 5X5 routine "wrong" up till this point. I've been going from a 5x5 base for the first part to a 5x3 part instead of the 3x3 most guides advocate (eclipse etc.).

I haven't been failing my weights in the latter part (doing 5x3) though, so should I really be doing 3x3 when I'm succeeding at 5x3? Or should I go 3x3 and add weights faster?

i think there is nothing wrong with 5x3 but it depends on what lifts you are focusing on. Ive personally done a 12x4 program and it really paid off. 3x3 tends to be a little too low on the volume scale for me but it sure helps in the strength department. However, ive found that you cant do 3x3 fo too long cause its very taxing on the CNS, especially in terms of the big 3.

pwesonally i would think you should do 5x4 and 5x3. if each set is up 10% from the last, theres no way youll be taxing yourself, youll just be warming up.

ok, i think i might have misunderstood the question. I was reffering to 5x3 with your 3RM. Is that was this is about?

I like 5x3 personally, just make sure you rest between sets

i've been doing a 3x3 for a few weeks now and I haven't had that much of a problem... I had a bad lift last week but I doubt its from the 3x3 taking its toll on me. If I have a 2nd week of bad lift i'll prob back to a 5x3 instead.

I like the 5x5 rep scheme, shit sometimes if I can do more I do more. If I feel I have more in me at the end of 5x5 then I aim to do another set of 5, if I can do it great I've done 6x5 ;)

Sometimes I end up only doing 3 or 4 reps though so it's 5x5 plus 1 set of 1x3.

I like the 5x5 rep scheme, shit sometimes if I can do more I do more. If I feel I have more in me at the end of 5x5 then I aim to do another set of 5, if I can do it great I've done 6x5 ;)