3x5 or 3x6-8?

supdudexxx

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Background: I'm 21, 5'7, 130 lbs. I started lifting about 2 weeks ago to supplement my BJJ training. I've been lifting every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday. BJJ Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday. Friday is a rest day.

On advice I received I alternate each workout between:

Workout A
3x8 Squat
3x8 Bench
1x8 Deadlift

Workout B
3x8 Squat
3x8 Military press
3x8 Pendlay rows

But, I recently perused Rippetoe's Starting Strength book and he recommends 3x5. There's also a chart at the back showing at what amount of reps each physiological adaptation is maximized, power being at rep 6.

I was told personally that for BJJ, you need strength that can endure, so I should do about 8+ reps for each set. But then others say that 8+ is bodybuilding, Sarcoplasmic Hypertrophy territory. I'm assuming you guys are knowledgeable and can tell me what I should REALLY do. Thanks guys.

stick to the 3x5. you'll naturally develop the muscular endurance/conditioning for BJJ by simply grappling more. when you need to compete, switch your priorities to focus more on BJJ. unless you've got a competition coming up, just work on building strength.

HOWEVER, there's no reason not to have some extra fun every once in awhile, if you want to go for a set of high-rep stuff, or throw in some extra assistance/hypertrophy work that you weren't necessarily planning on. but in general, stick to the starting strength script.

Lots of people seem to think that if your sport is endurance-based that you then need to do high reps when you lift so that your muscles can last a long time. Last a long time doing what? If you are weak as a kitten, I don't care how long you can maintain that intensity, you are still weak as a kitten.