3 months: Which Style?

MCanavan6

White Belt
Reaction score
I am going to start taking a standup fighting style within the next couple of weeks, which will give me about 3 months before I head back to college. I am unsure whether or not I will be able to continue training during school as I am extremely busy. To learn a standup in 3 months will cover the very basics I know but I figure its better than nothing, also I will be much more conditioned than before. The two I am trying to decide between are boxing and muay thai. I am leaning towards boxing because its more focused on one part of the body (hands) vs many (hands, elbows, knees, shins, feet) which I think will be better for learning in a short period of time. Any advice?

I Would find out the better gym/instructors in the area and go with that.

that being said, ive been doing MT for about 5 months now, and feel very comfortable with stand up, but out of everything my hands feel the worse. So if its punching you want to be strong at i would suggest boxing, if its just striking in general id go with the better trainers so you will learn more in the shorter time you have.

3 months is just the right about of time to learn the basics in either I would say. After 3 months of Boxing anyway you'll have some solid basics and good punches. Like TJT said go with the one with the best instructor/gym in your area its the answer people who actually do train should give you 10/10 times because its the best advice!

my first love is boxing so i'll always say boxing

but whats the purpose of having this base? do plan to fight mma in the future?

Take something with kicks incorporated into the satnd up(I'm partial to Karate). It's harder to defend against four limbs rather thatn two!

hmm, Boxing

but better spend more time than 3 months

(3 months is way too less for karate, you learn faster in boxing, but if he has more time, I would say kyokushin)