10x3

samurai155

White Belt
Reaction score
I just read Chad Waterbury's article on Tmag about the 10x3 system for fat loss and his way of breaking down the workouts. I wonder if that rep system would work good for the push, pull, squat breakdown? I may give it a try.. Anyone have any thoughts?

I used 10x3 as my deadlift routine for a while when I started lifting, but when I started putting any real weight on the bar, it just became too much. In addition, I find deadlifting anything more than a single to be awkward, and don't see any real payoff. Other than that, I don't really have that much experience with the program. If you liked the article, you should check out some of his previous work on tnation. From what I recall, he breaks down his program into planes rather than motions (ie incline bench press and bent rows on the same day, ohp and pullups, and so on). I would imagine the reason he does this is that if one were to apply it to a full workout, including all the assistance lifts, the volume would just be too much. Imagine doing 10x3 bp, 10x3 inclines, cg and ohp on the same day with 80% of your 1 rm, and it starts to make a bit more sense. The biggest take-home message I got from his articles on the matter is that for hypertrophy, one should keep their volume in the 24-52 rep range per movement per workout. If you are going to use his program, you might as well stick to what he wrote, because trying to apply it to another workout is not going to give you the same results unless you understand all of what he said and why he said it.

There was a really good discussion when that article first came out. It was fairly advanced but basically I remember Sky Boat saying that 10x3 was out of the range of effectiveness on Prepelin's Chart. Waterbury says to go 10x3 with 85% of your max correct?

I think its 10x3 at 80%. Anyway, give it a try and see for yourself. Some people respond well to high volume.