Why no Von Flue Choke???

prozach2

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I've been training in BJJ for about 12 years. If someone hold's a guillotine on me from side mount, they're getting choked out, immediately. The choke is known as the "Von Flue" choke b/c Jason Von Flue has used it in the UFC. If you don't know the choke I'm talking about, go away. If you do, please tell me why I've seen so many UFCs where the opportunity to end the fight with the choke has not been utilized? Even accomplished black belts in BJJ in the UFC don't attempt it? Why???

I'd just like to mention that the technique is not called the "Von Flue choke"... And the reason the technique isnt pulled off in MMA that often is because most of the players these days have some sort of BJJ training, and understand that a guillotine isn't very effective lying on your back in side mount.

I don't pretend to know the finer details of making it work, and I'm sure there are small details that I'm missing, but I've never had a high percentage rate with using it. If someone has a guillotine on me from side control I usually just secure my position and let them waste their energy.

Very few people I grapple with will waste their energy on a guillotine from side control.

which is why you don't see many Von Flue chokes in mma, if you ask me.

Agreed. Unless there is some variation on it that can be employed in standard side control.

If such a thing exists, I would love to learn it. But I think that if it did we would have seen it already. Someone, somewhere would have pulled it out somewhere.

I have been training BJJ for many years and have no idea what choke your talking about.

If someone holds on to the guillitone after i establish side control I armbar them with a quickness.

I have been training BJJ for many years and have no idea what choke your talking about.

If someone holds on to the guillitone after i establish side control I armbar them with a quickness.