Why is BJJ so ffff-ing hard?!?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Revolution, Jul 27, 2009.

1. Revolution Purple Belt

Revolution
    I've been training for only about 3 months, so yeah, I know it's still brand new. But I can't seem to do anything. I'm constantly in positions/situations that I have no clue what to do. Although I "know" (that is, I'm aware of) a number of subs, I almost never pull them off. Can someone please tell me what the learning curve is like, and at what point do you start to see the puzzle? Also, aside from going to class as often as possible, what else can I do to help myself understand.view BJJ as the chess match it should be (or so I'm told). I mean, to me, just getting my ass handed to me 3x per week doesn't seem to be helping. :redface:

2. jcarp White Belt

jcarp
    Do not get frustrated. I bet you are rolling with more experienced people. It will come. You still have to think about things and do not act as quickly. It will come.

3. Rjay Green Belt

Rjay
    If it was easy, everyone would be doing it. Everybody gets their ass handed to them at the start. I've been training for 2 years in a few months and I'm still getting my ass handed to me on a regular basis, its the nature of the game. Once in a while you may want to roll with a beginner.... then you'll see how far you've come. You keep going with the tough guys, you're going to keep getting worked and you don't see how your game has actually improved alot.

4. FLoWitheGo** Banned

FLoWitheGo**
    Talk to your instructor and tell him this. Maybe buy some instructionals to help supplement your bjj. My favorites going over concepts and fundamentals are Science of Jiu Jitsu with Maia and No Gi Made Easy with Mike Fowler. Saulo's is pretty good for that area as well. In terms of other dvds I enjoyed, I liked Robert Drysdales Nth Dimension and Jacare's instructional. Think about what your weakest at or what position you feel most clueless in and try to work from there.