Why have no other games been made with the 4A engine? (Metro 2033/Last Light)

Discussion in 'Video Game Forum' started by Ice That Jaw, Sep 9, 2017.

  1. Ice That Jaw Black Belt

    Ice That Jaw
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    DC Metro
    In anticipation for the new Metro game I am replaying Last Light and I am disappointed that these guys never rented out their custom game engine. It's fuckin brilliant. It's clear that their developers and designers are skilled but the graphics in their engine is so, damn, immersive.

    Don't just take my word for it. Here are my actually in-game screenshots. These were just random, no effort put in to the captures.

    Akthough sadly they are keeping their engine proprietary, I am pretty confident the upcoming game is going to be insane. Last Light just oozes with immersion. The graphics, the sound, the gameplay. Just awesome.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #1
    Egnuldt, BjPenn2017 and Madmick like this.
  2. hillelslovak87 Red Belt

    hillelslovak87
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    7,830
    Likes Received:
    10,288
    Location:
    Now this is pod racing!!!
    Great graphics, and great performance to match. Puzzling. Pretty sure I have both of them maxed out, and never saw a drop below 60.
     
    #2
  3. Concrete Gold Belt

    Concrete
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    21,898
    Likes Received:
    16,572
    Location:
    W3
    That's a good question. I was very impressed by the graphics in both games, especially given their age. With the final battle in Last Light, they showed you can have quite a lot going on at once and performance stays strong. I'm hoping with the new one, they improve the lighting further. So much of the tension in those dark corridors and rooms comes from the lighting, the dust motes in the air etc.
     
    #3
  4. Turtlejuice Free Wang

    Turtlejuice
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    5,317
    When an engine is purpose built for a game/game series they usually don't offer the flexibility needed for other games to be developed on it.
     
    #4
    Egnuldt likes this.
  5. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32,577
    Likes Received:
    16,767
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yeah, I'd infer that the primary reason a company would go to the lengths of building their own, proprietary game engine is because they want to keep it proprietary; in other words, they don't want any other games to look like their game. They're going that extra mile for uniqueness, not as a market investment. Otherwise, why not just use Unreal Engine or CryEngine like everybody else?
     
    #5
    Egnuldt likes this.
  6. warriorscomeout Silver Belt

    warriorscomeout
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13,618
    Likes Received:
    9,185
    Seems like a huge waste especially for a small studio
     
    #6
    StabbyMcHatchet likes this.
  7. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32,577
    Likes Received:
    16,767
    Location:
    NorCal
    Possibly. The other possibility is that-- while it is my understanding that building game engines is far more expensive than renting the rights to them-- this may not be true in the Ukraine (their initial headquarters when they first built their engine). They may have been able to build this more cheaply using good old-fashioned elbow grease in a generally more impoverished country with cheap developers; especially when the alternative was using their weak currency against American software rental fees.

    That seems to be the most sensible explanation if it isn't a matter of pursuing a more unique experience (which is less fiscally direct, but also ultimately a business strategy aimed at financial success).
     
    #7
    Egnuldt likes this.
  8. warriorscomeout Silver Belt

    warriorscomeout
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13,618
    Likes Received:
    9,185
    If you build a good engine, license it out. Having an unique engine would make sense for a really big producer making dozens of games.
     
    #8
  9. Drain Bamage Green Belt

    Drain Bamage
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Its a proprietary engine

    Its like why Ubisoft uses their own Anvil engine

    EA use Frostbite

    Engines handle a lot more than graphics too, everything from physics, AI, scripting have to be incorporated

    The Witcher 3 and GTA use their own engines too, as well as Doom
     
    #9
  10. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32,577
    Likes Received:
    16,767
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yes, but EA also licenses out Frostbite to a bunch of other developers, and that's what we're discussing, here.
     
    #10
  11. Turtlejuice Free Wang

    Turtlejuice
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    5,317
    But it's an engine purpose built for Metro. It's not going to be as open as Unreal Engine or Cryengine. For an engine to be universally available, it has to be built that way from the ground up.

    IIRC, all games that are made with FrostBite are from EA owned studios.
     
    #11
  12. GhostZ06 Gold Belt

    GhostZ06
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24,323
    Likes Received:
    5,330
    Location:
    Dallas tx
    the 4a engine is probably in the top 4 most powerful engines. Cryenigne being number one and red engine coming 2nd.

    then again there is also the void engine and ID tech


    Sadly they actually canceled there open world sci-fi game and foced on some stupid VR game and metro exodus
     
    #12
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2017
  13. PinkVaporStew Yellow Belt

    PinkVaporStew
    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    147
    Did they refuse to license it, or where there simply no takers?

    edit.. an open flame is seldom a good choice of illumination.
     
    #13
  14. TheRuthlessOne Violence Belt

    TheRuthlessOne
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,954
    Likes Received:
    28,257
    is the new Metro game using it ?
     
    #14
  15. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32,577
    Likes Received:
    16,767
    Location:
    NorCal
    Not quite. It isn't the ones they own, but only games they publish:
    Still, it seems weird that they would charge a licensing fee to studios who are partnering on the product, so yeah, I doubt they are charging a licensing fee, but rather, they're probably running the offer that any studios who might want to develop using Frostbite have to sign an agreement to publish through EA.

    There's probably a Reddit somewhere where the guys who actually run these businesses talk about this stuff.
     
    #15
  16. MacDuffle Black Belt

    MacDuffle
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    10,224
    Location:
    Aberdeen, in Exile
    I would wager it's in the same category as Dead Island/Dying Light's chrome engine, and nobody gave enough of a shit to license it out
     
    #16
  17. GhostZ06 Gold Belt

    GhostZ06
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24,323
    Likes Received:
    5,330
    Location:
    Dallas tx

    its using a much newer version of the 4a engine. i think its called 4a engine 2 or some shit.
     
    #17
  18. CodCommando Brown Belt

    CodCommando
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,770
    Likes Received:
    3,921
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    This game was made using the Phyre Engine, which is..... FREE for game devs.......
     
    #18
    Madmick likes this.
  19. Madmick Stop Spoiling My TV Life (it's the one I like)

    Madmick
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32,577
    Likes Received:
    16,767
    Location:
    NorCal
    No doubt.

    Vulkan is an open-source API to developers, and you can code for it in Unreal Engine 4 which is also free. Developers today can make incredible looking games that run on shitty, mobile, cheap, Chinese billion-core processors without paying a dime to anyone. Grab a virtual pickaxe and mine the OpenGL library developed over the years for textures and everything else shared by the community that are forward-compatible with Vulkan.
     
    #19
    Egnuldt and CodCommando like this.
  20. Ice That Jaw Black Belt

    Ice That Jaw
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    DC Metro
    Let's be real here. While that engine looks good, it doesn't really compare to the 4A engine. Look at the lighting. It looks Unreal 3 like. The lighting and particle effects in the Metro games are just plain incredible at times. My screenshots weren't planned out so I wasn't really able to capture it but you know about it because you've played them.

    The way the fog, smoke, sparks, dust, etc move around in various lightshafts is the main reason why the games are so immersive.

    Let's not also forget their proprietary form of AA which while in-game says that it's SSAA, is really some kind of mix of whatever they use. Point being, the end result is zero jaggies without SSAA performance drops. It's brilliant.

    Zoom in on my screenshots. Doesn't it almost look painted on? Look at the grating on the car? Have you ever seen grating look that clear in a game? lol
     
    #20
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "fd5733925866a04e50edd70f38dfaa35"
monitoring_string = "603ac9fff68f23709f2a42bf5e29272b"