Why do people think Khabib struggles with take downs in late rounds?

TheChosenOne

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm new to MMA compared to you folks and it baffles me the amount of times I hear most of you guys praising Al or Conor for stuffing some take downs in the later rounds as though they accomplished something.

What I see versus most of you guys is that those take downs are half ass attempts versus the ones where he goes for broke like the very first one in the first round of the Conor fight and the one where he locked on to Al's foot like his life depended on it.

So why is Khabib in the later rounds when he's easily winning the fight doing half assed take down attempts you ask? Simply to break the rhythm of the opponent, think of it as a double or triple jab in boxing. If it's successful cool, if not no big deal because now the opponent is petrified of being taken down and is constantly being reminded of that thus throwing off their striking game and in turn making Khabib more successful with his strikes. It's comparable to guys who throw shitty front kicks for range, throwing of the opponent's rhythm etc...

Maybe he gets tired after cutting all that weight?

K1 instincts take over and his heart isn't in the takedowns anymore.

Yes, Khabib goes all out to secure the take downs in the early rounds to create a "buffer" of won rounds and to fatigue his opponent. In the third and later rounds, single rounds become less important to dominate, so it's not worth burning his whole gas tank for one take down. It's not like he's intentionally failing, but he doesn't mind too much if he doesn't get it. Far better for him to keep gas in the tank and cruise to victory than get completely exhausted chain-wrestling (and then potentially KO'd/subbed himself) even when he's leading on the judges' cards.