When beginners don't "play the game"

Dougall

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
So I'm signed up to do a charity boxing event at the end of the month. 3 x 1minute rounds, headgear, 16oz gloves etc. It's a complete novice event and nobody who is competing has fought at any significant level before.
In preparation for it I've been doing a bit more sparring, sparring different people from different clubs too. Now I'm by no means an experienced boxer, only a few months experience, but when I spar I do try to make an effort to focus on my technique; working behind the jab, head movement/hands up, keeping my footwork correct etc. But the guys I have the hardest time sparring are the guys who do none of this. The guys who have even less experience then me and charge in windmilling with wild hooks. There's a guy who does this and his reach is a good few inches longer than mine, and he doesn't seem to get tired throwing endless numbers of punches. Sparring him is harder than sparring more experienced people who seem to box "regularly". When you see the things he does they're the things we get taught not to do because they're "bad technique" but his bad technique is harder to deal with than "good technique", to me anyway.
People have told me that sparring beginners can be frustrating because they're so unpredictable. So how do you deal with new guys who don't use conventional techniques or don't "play the game".

Study them too. More looks at something the better your probability to deal with it, right or wrong.

My guess.

So I'm signed up to do a charity boxing event at the end of the month. 3 x 1minute rounds, headgear, 16oz gloves etc. It's a complete novice event and nobody who is competing has fought at any significant level before.