What is your reaction when someone says they do or coach kickboxing but its just kickboxing fitness.

teamventure09

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I never react when someone says they do kickboxing or they'e a kickboxer but its just a fitness class.

However, today was different when someone said they're a kickboxing coach.

I kindly told them that it' not fair to real kickboxing coaches for you to use the same title.

To me it's like someone who knows how to lay a splint calling themselves a doctor.

What are your reactions to this type of stuff when it comes to mma and kickboxing? Should we just call it fitness kickboxing or should a fitness class atendee say I'm a kickboxer.

Yes, I like fitness kickboxing. "I'm a fitness kickboxing coach."

I've seen some of these requirements. All you need is 1 year training in the field and you can go apply to be a "coach". I see no problem with that since I was kind of teaching guys who to throw a jab after a few months. But by no means can they teach/coach someone through a fight. You need real in ring experience to do that.

Thank you for the reply. Is there a distinction between what you'e describing and someone who just does fitness drills with pads but doesn' really learn form?

So traditional martial arts styles with no contact-sparring provokes you too? They are fitness by the same token

Yes, I like fitness kickboxing. "I'm a fitness kickboxing coach."

I've seen some of these requirements. All you need is 1 year training in the field and you can go apply to be a "coach". I see no problem with that since I was kind of teaching guys who to throw a jab after a few months. But by no means can they teach/coach someone through a fight. You need real in ring experience to do that.